Coffee (Table) Love!

I heart coffee. I know that’s no surprise but I just wanted to get it out there. So anything that goes with coffee is an automatic for me…like donuts, funny mugs, and TABLES!

CTE1

As chronic movers (we’ve moved12 times in 10 years), we’ve never before acquired a coffee table…but seeing as how we’re real grown ups now with a real house (I realize how incredibly immature that sounds), we need a coffee table.

Yes, I said NEED. Note: we don’t yet have a dining room table to eat at or a place to pile up the thousands of magazines I still need to read through. (Yes, I realize how ironic a stack of thousands of magazines might seem to you given that my hubby is a firefighter.)

So, on a day when I wasn’t even looking for one, I spotted this super fugly coffee table at  thrift store for $17.50.

Yes! Only $17.50. Sure it was fugly, but at that price, who was I to complain? I figured we can use it until we find the one we really want.

So I took ‘er home. I’m afraid that the before-and-after effect will be less dramatic because, well, I forgot to take a before shot. I know! Bad blogger! But here’s shot of the top the I snapped while I was sanding it down:

P1030307

I also pried off weird wooden appliques that looked like shells and used a chisel to scrape off bits of remaining glue and sanded it all down nice and smooth.

P1030308

P1030310

I used all the tools suggested by Chris over at Just a Girl blog (her painting furniture tutorial is here)

P1030315

I used the paint she suggested, too (even though it was spendy, but she’s right…it was worth it!).

P1030316

I rested the table on paint cans so I could get all angles of it and so that it wouldn’t stick to the ground. After a good TSP cleaning and a light sanding, it was ready for primer. I used Kilz.

P1030312

After two good coats of the Benjamin Moore Metal & Wood Enamel (and overnight drying), she was ready to be capped with her custom-cut glass top.

CTE2

What’ya think? A little cottagey for our taste, yes, but it was only $17.50! Plus, the bright white paint and the reflective glass top really lighten up the room.

Now those of you with eagle eyes surely spotted the curtain fabric hanging behind the couch. I just pinned it up quickly to make sure I love the fabric in person as much as I did in my head when I purchased it online.

P1030351

See the selvage edge? I’ll get to sewing them up soon. In the meantime, one more look at my revived thrift store coffee table:

CTE1

Now I just need someone to bring me coffee! (hint, hint)

Have a great weekend!

Teresa

This entry was posted in Nesting, Stuff we're working on, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Coffee (Table) Love!

  1. madambass says:

    It turned out so beautifully!!! Now we have some place to sit when we sample your chocolate ginger cookies.

  2. Pat Biggs says:

    Love your coffer table. You have so many good ideas, Teresa. I really do love the way you spend less, and end up with so much more. Your finished project [OCH] is going to be amazing !!!

    • Teresa says:

      Pat, I LOVE your comments. Thanks for your compliments and for reading our little blog. Isn’t it funny how it’s projects like these cheapies that can have a much bigger impact than some of the more expensive ones?!

  3. I like this a lot! The detail on the bottom is gorgeous. It looks brand-new!

    • Teresa says:

      Thanks! It actually turned out waaaaay better than I’d imagined it could. I thought it would be a nice place-holder until we could afford a “real” table but it’s so fresh and pretty it will probably just stay!

  4. Anna says:

    Wow, that looks absolutely incredible! Good job! ;)

  5. Pat Biggs says:

    Noticed a typo in my last message….coffer table vs.COFFEE table….guess I will just have to gather up some good coffee and cookies, and come visit you and Chris. I <3 antique things Teresa. They have so much more character that the branny new things.

    • Teresa says:

      You’re so right! Some of these older things just look perfect in our house because it’s older. You’re welcome to come visit ANYTIME! (But be forewarned: there is a giant hole in our floor…more on that to come.)

  6. Katrina says:

    great addition to your living room, love the curtains toos!

  7. Chris says:

    Holy cow! It turned out beautifully! The glass on top really sets it apart. I love that. Thinking about some glass now… :) I’m so glad you liked the paint, ’cause it is expensive. Good stuff though, eh? Great job!

  8. Pingback: Last of the Russian Sage {Living Room Update} | Our Corner House

  9. New here and especially enjoying your reader’s comments. So many links, so little time!

    LOVE the blog. Keep those “cheapie” hints coming – and thanks for telling us when something is expensive but worth it.
    xx,
    mgh
    (Madelyn Griffith-Haynie – ADDandSoMuchMore dot com)
    – ADD Coach Training Field founder; ADD Coaching co-founder –
    “It takes a village to transform a world!”

  10. PS. Coffee is my drug of choice! xx, mgh

Leave a comment