Oh that darn basement!

Oy. Apparently it’s been so long since I’ve blogged that I’ve forgotten how. But no doubt the “before” of our basement scared the bejeezus out of you. Me too. Here’s another pic, in case you missed it, here’s a second glance (brace yourself):

BasementBefore

I know. It was embarrassing. But with the rest of the house in renovation, this room became a catch-all space. A scary dark hole of clutter and mystery. With Chris out of the area in God knows where fighting wildfires, renovation projects have all but come to a stand still. So I decided that for a 12th anniversary surprise, I’d organize it and gussy it up a bit. I cleaned out the junk (most went to the Goodwill and some—the mystery part—was fun stuff that I’d forgotten we had…like old photos and tickets to our first concert together).

BasementTidy

Then I tore out that nasty NAH-STY carpet. I shudder to think what was in that carpet. The previous owner had great big greasy dogs. Well, I’m just guessing that they were greasy. But look at that ring of dirt around the room! Something grubby rubbed up against the wall. Look at that dirty wall!!!!

DirtyWall

Do you know how much dirt is under your carpet? Hopefully not as much as was under ours. I don’t wish this on anybody. Well, that may not be entirely true, actually…but seriously. So. Much. Dirt.

UnderCarpet

I spent to evenings after work cleaning out the stuff and ripping out the carpet and scouring the floor. Now the room looks like this!!!

Basement1

And this:

Basement2

Ahhh…so much better. I’m totally amazed at what one fed-up girl can do when she puts her mind to it! Anything. Well, anything but cart that super-heavy footlocker out. I have no idea why that thing is so heavy. No single thing in there looks particularly heavy. One of those weird anti-physics laws or something.

In the meantime, I have plans to paint and put a new floor down. Since this is a basement, I want something very water and mildew resistant. I chose the Allure vinyl flooring from Home Depot in teak:

For the paint color I chose Sherwin Williams Incredible White. It’s a kind of grayish-whiteish color.

Mum and sis are coming to give me a hand with the fun part. I CANNOT WAIT!!! And Chris will be so excited. Even if I did nothing more, the room is already a gazillion times improved.

More to come!

Red heart Teresa

This entry was posted in Renovating & repairing our old home, Stuff we're working on, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Oh that darn basement!

  1. madambass says:

    Always glad to help!

  2. mary gallant says:

    Atta girl, Teresa!!!! Attitude is EVERYTHING….. yes Yes YESSSSS!!!!
    gram m

  3. Pingback: A new basement floor!!! | Our Corner House

  4. Dave says:

    Looks good! Want to come get rid of some mushrooms growing in a corner of our bathroom? My bro in law just cut out a 3’x 3′ area of drywall that is behind one of our shower faucets. Nasty black mold. Dee is going to bleach the whole area once I replace the 2×4’s that are saturated with mold.

Leave a Reply

