Inexpensive Bathroom Refresh

To say the least, this crazy-yucky bathroom was mocking me with its dated ugliness. (You have no idea how sad I am that I didn’t get a picture of the original gold-and-oak vanity light to share with you.)

bath03-01

It needed a whole new look but on a super-tiny budget. Leftover paint? Check. Scrap wood to build mirror frame? Check. Extra dark-gray stain from the basement bathroom makeover? Check. Original artwork by moi? Check. Check. Check.

bath02-01

bath4

We’re not quite finished with this project yet…still need to replace the window and blinds in this room, as well as the stained (and super YUCK floors) and blue vinyl baseboards.

BUT, for just a couple of weekends and under $150 (including the glam new light fixture!!!), this room is no longer mocking me. As a matter of fact, I find myself pausing every time I walk by just to peek in.

It’s amazing how quickly you can forget how a room used to look. So here’s a reminder:

DSC03563

Bwahaha! I know, I know…super mean. Sorry. I offer my sincerest apologies along with another in-progress shot:

bath1

Ahhhh….much  better, no? If only all projects were this cheap and easy!! Details on the custom mirror-frame-shelf-thing to come from Chris soon.

Red heart Teresa

This entry was posted in Nesting, Renovating & repairing our old home, Stuff we're working on, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Inexpensive Bathroom Refresh

  1. madambass says:

    I can’t believe the improvement!!! I’ve priced those mirrors in the neighborhood of $400!!!!! It’s so nice when you enjoy glancing into a room rather than keeping the door shut. Can’t wait to see it.

  2. Pat Biggs says:

    Thanks for some ideas. We are going to have our ancient bathroom redone, on a budget. You guys should hire out as ‘room fixer uppers’. You are amazing.

    How are you doing? Lond time, no ‘type’.

  3. sarah says:

    Gorgeous!! It looks lovely..I really would have liked to see that light fixture.. ;) x

  4. kylahfink says:

    Hey guys! Looking good and I cant wait to see what it looks like when the place is finished….and I cant wait to come back up and visit again.

  5. Pingback: Cheap Bathroom Makeover Ideas . krysio

Leave a Reply

